skip to Main Content

Girls from program sweep Lackawanna Player of Year honors

Players who spent 2019 in the JB Hoops AAU program swept the four divisional Player of the Year honors when named its Lackawanna League girls basketball all-star teams.

JB Hoops alum Taylor Huyck from Susquehanna repeated as the Division 4 Player of the Year.

Rachael Rose from Scranton Prep repeated in Division 1.

Western Wayne’s Kaeli Romanowski, in Division 2, and Dunmore’s Moriah Murray, in Division 3, were the other Players of the Year.

Huyck has completed her AAU eligibility and is committed to play at Elizabethtown College.

The others are expected to play for the NEPA Elite team, which, like JB Hoops, is operating out of Backcourt Hoops in Scranton, when AAU basketball action is able to be conducted.

Players from both programs were prominent on the Lackawanna all-star teams, as selected by the website.

That is particularly true with Division 1 and Division 3, the two divisions that had the most success when playing against outside competition.

Rose was joined on the list of Division 1 repeaters by first-team selections Nya Johnson from West Scranton, Cecelia Collins from Scranton Prep and Clair Marion from Abington Heights. They all played together on the JB Hoops Bucci National team last summer, with Marion splitting her time between that team and the JB Hoops Rose National team.

The Division 1 second team included Scranton Prep’s Maria Belardi and Abington Heights’ Rachel McDonald from the JB Hoops Rose team and Valley View’s Skylar Bianchi from the JB Hoops Toomey Regional team.

Johnson, who is committed to National Collegiate Athletic Association Division II Bloomsburg University, is graduating out of the program.

Rose, Collins, Marion, Belardi, McDonald and Bianchi are all NEPA Elite players.

Murray was also joined by three first-team picks from JB Hoops on the Division 3 team.

Old Forge’s Lindsey Welsh spent 2019 with the JB Hoops Bucci team while high school teammate Olivia Ciullo and Dunmore’s Ciera Toomey played on the JB Hoops Toomey team.

Riverside’s Leah Hodick and Kayla Rose made the second team. They both played on JB Hoops Bucci, with Rose doubling up as a member of the JB Hoops Rose team.

Welsh and Hodick are JB Hoops alumni, who have committed to play at DeSales University.

Murray, Ciullo, Toomey and Kayla Rose remain at Backcourt Hoops as players for NEPA Elite, where they are expected to be joined by Dunmore’s Mia Blume, a second-team division all-star.

In addition to Romanowski, the Division 2 all-stars included first-teamer Carena Colo, a North Pocono player who was on the JB Hoops Toomey team and second-teamer Kathy Shepherd, a Western Wayne player who was part of the JB Hoops Rose team.

Romanowski, Shepherd, Colo and Jenna Beach, a North Pocono player who made the second team, are now part of the NEPA Elite.

Huyck and Division 4 first-team repeater Mackenzie Steele, are both JB Hoops alumni from Susquehanna.

Steele is committed to the University of Scranton.


Back To Top
×Close search

Get the latest news from Backcourt Hoops! Enter your email below.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.